Camp – 2024 Wainui

Kia Ora!
How are you?

On the 13th of March, the year 7/8’s went to Wainui Camp to learn valuable life lessons and skills about the wilderness. It was quite fun, interesting, and difficult at some times. Here is what I personally thought of camp

 

Some good things are that there were actually fun activities! One was a “zipline” but it was really a high flying-fox. I also liked paddling or kayaking. I think it was very entertaining and fun for a new experience. It was very tiring though.

 

A challenge for me was handling homesickness. I personally don’t get homesick but the one time that I do, gets super overwhelming for me. Another thing was trying to stay calm while others were trying to prank and scare others. Someone scared me and I screamed like a little girl. It was super funny but scary. I thought we were going into a lockdown.

 

What I would do differently or change about camp would be to add a little bit more water activities that are close to us. I really enjoyed the raft building, which is what inspired me to say this. 

Here is a photo of us 1 stop before arriving to take a lunch break.

Have you ever been to Wainui Camp?

Have you ever been camping?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *